When your Facebook starts posting weird links on your wall
“Oh NO!!!!! Someone is posting weird links on my Facebook! 🙁 My Facebook was hacked”, that’s the first message I got today from my sister… Guess what?! her account was not hacked, she actually allowed that someone posting it. How? read below..
If you noticed weird activity on your Facebook- new posts on your behalf (on your wall), weird links on your wall, friends getting message from you or anything like that, but you are still logged on to your account and you haven’t given your passwords to anyone, it doesn’t mean that your account was hacked it basically means that you allowed app to post on your behalf or to access your info (+ friends list). So calm down, follow these steps and get rid of your Facebook intruder:
As you can see on the two posts above (from my sister’s wall), they were made by “Play Ff”, so now I will show you how to find “Play Ff” and remove it…
On the left side bar on Facebook-> click on “apps” or just click on this link . Now, try to spot any app that you are not familiar with; It can be the third, the fifth, or even the last. Since I couldn’t find PlayFF on the list, I clicked on settings, which took me to another page. Guess what? PlayFf was there!!!
When I checked the settings of Play Ff, I could see that it had the permission to post on my sisters Facebook. To remove it you will have to click on the left end at the line of the app and “remove”. By removing this app, it will delete all posts that were ever made on your Facebook by this app and also won’t allow it to post it again…
Looking at this apps list and also going back to the previous page, I quickly spotted some apps that had also permission to post on my sister’s wall so I’ve removed them all.
“לייק אנד שר- הרשמה” was something that I was not familiar with and also had “post on my behalf” option so I removed it too.
Two things to learn from my sister’s experience:
- when you are engaging with any app/game on Facebook tick off the option of allowing the app to post on your behalf, if you can’t tick it off, I would recommend you to think again if you want to allow the app.
- Now when you know how to see all the apps that you allowed before, you might want to consider removing most of them as they’ve got access to your personal data and post weird links on your behalf.